Performance Measurement Network

Question: Will Primary Stroke Certification continue?

How will the addition of Stroke as a ORYX core measure set effect the certification process? Will it continue?


Yes, DSC Advanced Primary Stroke Center Certification will continue. To maintain primary stroke center certification, PSCs must continue to collect and submit quarterly data via the CMIP application for all 10 stroke measures through Dec. 31, 2009 (including STK-7 and STK-9.)

Effective January 1, 2010, PSCs should use the specifications for the eight NQF-endosred stroke measures as detailed in the Specifications Manual for National Inpatient Quality Measures, Version 3.0a. (In 2010, Stroke-7 and Stroke-9 will be retired.)

Accredited hospitals, whether they have a certified Primary Stroke Center or not, may choose to use the stroke measure set to fulfill their ORYX core measure reporting requirements for accreditation. ORYX core stroke measure data submission is not mandatory for certified Primary Stroke Centers.

Question Details
Focus area(s): Chart Abstracted Measure Specifications – Clinical, Other
Related documents: STK, Stroke as a core measure,

Copyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding Performance Measurement Network? Send feedback
This website is using cookies. More info. That's Fine